top of page
Vintage Socialise.jpg

Activities

Talks

We have a programme of wide-ranging talks for the 2023-24 season. All meetings are held in the Tabernacle Chapel Vestry.

 

Tuesday 19 September 2023, 7.30pm
Michael Freeman: Ann Evans, Highmead 1738-1807, the best farmer in the county

Tuesday 17 October  2023, 7.30pm
Natalie Chapman : George Chapman: A Personal View

 

Tuesday 21 November 2023, 7.30pm
Dr James January McCann (RCAHMW): Historic Place Names of Wales

Tuesday 16 January 2024, 7.30pm
Ken Murphy, Dyfed Archaeological Trust: The Iron Age capital of mid-Wales: recent archaeological excavation at Pendinas Hillfort

Tuesday 20 February 2024, 7.30pm
Jane Aaron: Cranogwen (In Welsh with simultaneous translation)

Tuesday 19 March 2024, 7.30pm
Siân Stewart: Bensha and his daughters: The Remarkable Residents of Portland House, Aberaeron. Part 1

Tuesday 30 April 2024, 6.15pm

Annual General Meeting

to be followed by a talk at 7.30pm on the Aberaeron coastal defence works from the contractors, BAM.

08EE5_edited.jpg
Trips.jpg
Trips

Our most recent trip in October 2023 was to  Nanteos Mansion, near Aberystwyth. This beautiful 18th century house was the home of the Powell  family and is most famous for having housed the Nanteos cup, said to be the holy grail. 


Details of our next planned trip will follow soon.

Dining

Always popular with our members, this season we are holding a mixture of lunches and dinners kindly organised by Margaret Bevan:

Thursday, 28 September 2023: Feathers Royal Hotel 7pm
Monday, 13 November 2023: The Hive 12.30pm
Friday, 8 December 2023: The Harbourmaster 12.30pm
Wednesday, 31 January 2024: Y Seler 12.30pm
Tuesday, 12 March 2024: The Hive 2.30pm
Thursday, 11 April 2024: The Harbourmaster 7pm

Menus and prices are circulated to members in advance of each date.

Dining.jpg
bottom of page